Wyandot County
Marriage License Information

Marriage license applications are completed at the Wyandot County Probate Court located on the second floor of the Wyandot County Courthouse in Upper Sandusky, Ohio. Wyandot County Probate Court's hours for accepting marriage applications are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. . The office is closed on legal holidays. You can apply online any time, but in order to complete the online application process, both applicants must go together to the Court between the hours listed above, with any additional required materials mentioned in these instructions.

Appointments are preferred but not required when applying for a Marriage License. Please contact the court to make an appointment.

Residency Requirement

  • If you are an Ohio Resident, you must apply for your marriage license in the County in which one of the Applicants resides. You are then able to be married anywhere in the State of Ohio.
  • If both applicants are out-of-state residents and wish to apply in Wyandot County, the marriage must occur in Wyandot County.

Eligibility and Required Documents

  • Each Applicant must be 18 years of age or older and have a government issued photo ID (i.e. Driver’s License, State ID, Passport, Visa, etc.) or Birth Certificate.
  • If the applicant is just 18 years of age, the Court will require the applicant’s original Birth Certificate as ID. Otherwise, special rules for Juveniles apply. Please call the Probate Court for more information – 419-294-2302.
  • If you have had a legal name change, you will need to bring a copy of the appropriate Judgment Entry.
  • If one or both Applicants have been previously married, you must bring a certified copy of the most recent final divorce, dissolution, or annulment decree.
  • If either applicant is a widow or widower, we do not require a death certificate.

There is no blood testing required by the State of Ohio.

The couple must appear together in person to swear, or affirm, that all information and testimony provided is true, correct and complete.

The license will be issued upon receipt of a completed application provided there is no additional information needed. If more information is needed, the license must be issued within 30 days of application. After 30 days, the application is considered null and void.

Marriage licenses expire sixty (60) days after issuance.

The person officiating the ceremony must be licensed through the State of Ohio to solemnize the marriage.

The cost of the marriage license is $50.00, payable by cash or check.

Upon the Court’s receipt of a completed Marriage Certificate, either by the person performing the ceremony, or the party, the Court may issue, upon request, certified copies of the Marriage Certificate and/or Record for required name changes or proof of marriage, as needed. There is no cost when requesting this document for a government agency.

Apply Online

© Copyright Wyandot Juvenile and Probate Courts 2024
Site Designed by Henschen & Associates, Inc